Not at all! I am always happy when my clients send me shots they like, because it gives me a clearer understanding of what they’re looking for. Also, it’s fun to try out things I’ve never done before or things I might not have thought of on my own.

Do keep in mind, though, that a photographer would never want to copy another photographer’s work exactly! It’s great to draw inspiration from one another, but expect that your photographer will add their creative flair to the images and ideas you send over – after all, that’s why you hired them. In addition to not wanting to do so, it’s nearly impossible to replicate a shot exactly. Weddings are very spontaneous and the setting, characters, mood, lighting, etc. will be different on your wedding day. Inspirational images are just that – inspiration to build on.

If you really feel uncomfortable sending your ideas over, you can ask your photographer if they mind first. You could also start by sending over your favorite shots from their own website or blog. But I say, go for it! Create a Pinterest board (I’m newly obsessed!) and send it your photographer’s way with a nice note saying that these shots caught your eye and you can’t wait to work with them. They most certainly will not take offense!

xo,
Kristina
