Mother’s Day is Sunday. I am lucky because this year I get to spend the day with my mom in person. Living out-of-state, that is not always the case.

I’ve been thinking about my mom a lot lately and how I can celebrate her at my wedding… some day. Due to health issues, she may not be able to contribute to my wedding in a traditional sense. So much of who i am can be traced to her and our relationship, it will be of the utmost importance that she is present during the ceremony and reception.

Here are my ideas:

I’ll incorporate her words of wisdom in to my toast quoting her advice. “Find someone who makes you laugh!”

My love of food was definitely something passed down from my mom, so it would be fitting for me to share some of her favorite foods with my guests at my wedding. Maybe movie popcorn passed before guests find their seat for the ceremony or including miniature apple pies on our dessert table.

My parents’ song is Strangers in the Night. I’ll dance with my Dad to that song. My mom’s name is Donna so I’ll find a special place in the reception to play “Oh Donna” by Ritchie Valens.

I’ll ask to wear her wedding ring for my “something borrowed.”

I’ll ask her to write me a letter for my brother to read aloud.

I’ll find something from her wedding to use and find a way to incorporate it into my celebration. Perhaps I’ll take pieces of her wedding dress and have runners, a ring bearer pillows or a book cover made.

I’ll frame photographs from mom and dad’s wedding and display them appropriately.

I’ll play the video from their wedding and have a slide show of snapshots from our life together shown.

Enjoy Sunday, I hope your mom has a great day!

xo,
Tammy
